Mental Health Commission

A quality mental health service that is founded on the provision of recovery-based care, dignity and autonomy for service users

Learn more about the Mental Health Commission

Mental Health Commission Members

Ms Kathleen Lynch T.D., Minister of State, Department of Health and Department of Justice, Equality & Defence with responsibility for Disability,Older People, Equality & Mental Health announced on 5th April 2012 the appointments of the following individuals to the Mental Health Commission for the period of 2012 to 2017.

The Chair of the Commission is Mr John Saunders, who is Director of Shine the national organisation dedicated to upholding the rights and addressing the needs of those with mental illness. The other members of the Commission include representatives of the medical, nursing, psychology, and social work professions, the legal profession, voluntary bodies, mental health service users and the general public.

The full list of members appointed by the Minister is as follows:


Mr. John Saunders Mr. John Saunders, Director, Shine  
Dr. Maeve DoyleDr. Maeve Doyle, Consultant Child and Adolescent PsychiatristDr Mary O'Hanlon ImageDr. Mary O’Hanlon, Consultant Psychiatrist
Dr. Xavier FlanaganDr. Francis Xavier Flanagan, G.P.Ms. Catherine O'RorkeMs. Catherine O'Rorke, Director of Nursing
Dr. Mary KeysDr. Mary Keys, Lecturer, NUI GalwayMr. Ned KellyMr. Ned Kelly, Director of Nursing
Ms. Pauline GillMs. Pauline Gill, Principal Social WorkerDr. Michael ByrneDr. Michael Byrne, Principal Psychology Manager
Mr. John RedicanMr. John Redican, Chief Executive Officer, National Service User ExecutiveJPEG - Ms. Yvonne O'NeillMs. Yvonne O'Neill, Head of Planning, Performance & Programme Mgt., HSE Mental Health Services (appointed on 07/10/2014)
Ms. Colette NolanMs. Colette Nolan, Chief Executive Officer, Irish Advocacy NetworkMs Patricia O’Sullivan LacyMs. Patricia O'Sullivan Lacy, Barrister-at-Law

The Commission has 13 members. In accordance with the provisions of the Mental Health Act 2001, members include:-

- A Lawyer
- Three registered medical practitioners of whom two are consultant psychiatrists
- A social worker
- A psychologist
- An employee of the Health Service Executive nominated by the Executive
- Two registered nurses
- A representative of the general public
- Three representatives of voluntary bodies (at least two of whom must have or have had a mental illness)


Contacting US

Waterloo Exchange, Waterloo Road, Dublin 4

Ph: 353(1) 636 2400

Fax: 353(1) 636 2440

Eircode: D04 E5W7

GPS coordinates: 53°19'58.6"N 6°14'36.9"W